Ratings & Reviews

Overall Rating

3(22 reviews)68.2% of customers recommend this property

Rating Per Category

Parking
Noise
Grounds
Construction
Maintenance
Staff

Your Review

Submit a Review

Resident Reviews

submitted by Joe H. - |Recommended: YesVery nice — It is a good place to stay.
response from property -Thank you for taking the time to rate and review us here at Pencil Factory! We are pleased to hear that you call it a good place to stay. If there is anything you need, just let us know!! Again, thank you for taking time out of your day to leave us a rating and review Bobby Starnes, CAM Business Manager Pencil Factory
submitted by Tyler D. - |Recommended: Yes. — .
response from property -Thank you for the four star rating. We do appreciate it very much. If there is anything we can do, please let us know.
submitted by Kristen V. - |Recommended: NoUnfortunate Experiences Overshadow — Bobby and Amy are great. Unfortunately, the experience I have had living at the pencil factory has been disappointing and unbelievably below living standards. As a young professional returning to school, I was so excited to find this location. It has been nothing short of unbearable. I will not recommend this location to anyone until certain living standards are met.
response from property -Thank you for your honest rating and review of Pencil Factory. I know we have spoke several times about things, and I really wish there was something more that I could do to make your stay with us more pleasurable and a place you would love to call home. I will continue on our end in the office doing what we can to hopefully remedy at least one of the main concerns you have very soon. Thank you again for the open, honest rating and review, as it gives us something to work on and possibly earn a changed review in the future. Bobby Starnes, CAM Business Manager Pencil Factory
submitted by Latishia C. - |Recommended: NoReview — Wouldn't live here again, paying for the connivence of being downtown but management has poor communication skills. Maintenance does not respond quickly. not an overall good experience.
response from property -I'm sorry to hear you feel that way about Pencil Factory and Management. I'm surprised about the poor communication skills comment, as we send out emails updated everyone on what is going on, events we are having, and same with all of our Social Media. I would like to know more about what we can do to better our communication kills to our Neighbors. Yes, maintenance was slow in the beginning, as we only had one maintenance technician that was allowed in occupied apartment homes, but we have a full team now and request have been being handled within same day or 24 hours. If there is something we have overlooked in your apartment, please let me know and I will address it directly with our maintenance team and make sure its taken care of Monday. Give me a call at 404-525-7000 or email us a pencilfactory@lincolnapts.com Thank you for taking the time to leave the rating and review, as we do take these serious. Bobby Starnes, CAM Business Manager
submitted by Logan L. - |Recommended: YesGood area and property, but some maintenance problems — Its a great area, and a great building as a whole. However, there is always something wrong in our apartment. From our dishwasher breaking, to stove breaking, to shower not draining, door and door handles coming off, and AC breaking, it has been a rough move-in. But the staff are extremely helpful and always friendly.
response from property -I am sorry to hear about your hard time moving in. I know the frustration it caused, and thank you for being patient with us while we worked with you on getting things back together for you. We do truly want everyone to enjoy calling Pencil Factory Home! If there is anything you need please let us know and Ill make sure it get's taken care of. Bobby Starnes, CAM Business Manager
submitted by Kakenya W. - |Recommended: YesConvenient location... — The property is centrally located which makes it convenient to all things Atlanta...the amenities leave much to be desired. The dog park is horrid literally like tip toeing through a sh tty land-fill. The hallways need to be pressured washed they reek trash. The bugs roaches are all bad as well, especially after trash is pulled. The staff is pleasant and seemly want to do the right thing but inherited a ton of issues.
response from property -Thank you for the rating and review. We do have plans for the breezeways coming up this year, but I think pressure washing your floor would push water under the doors in the breezeway. With that being said, I will get with our Maintenance Supervisor and see if there is someone we can do that will be just as effective, yet less invasive. Also, I will have pest control treat that breezeway tomorrow while he is here. That should be a good start to any pest issues. And the Bark Park, I know maintenance has been cleaning it up, but I just need to send out a notices letting others know to pick up after their pets, since we do have a waste station right beside the entrance. Thank you for the opportunity to address these issues and concerns.
submitted by Kenneth A. - |Recommended: NoI wish I would have done more research on this property. — I am disappointed in this apartment complex. There seems to be very little follow up from management for tenants to follow the basic rules. There are loud dogs, unattended to all over the complex. There is dog poop all over the grounds. In the courtyard where there are supposed to be no pets, owners daily let their dogs out to crap all over the courtyard and bark at all hours of the night. And of course the poop is just left there and no one seems to care. My air conditioner has been broken since I moved in in March....I have to turn it off in the breaker box because they just stopped coming around for that complaint. No one follows the valet trash rules, so other tenants just leave leaky trash bags in the hallway for days at time, making the hallways literally smell like garbage. The safety doors are frequently broken due to being kicked in. And my rent is ALWAYS higher than what I agreed to pay Even this month there is an extra 33 They also charged me two deposits. If you are a college student who has a dog and no regard for your neighbors...this is the place to be If you are an adult that expects basic cleanliness and decent living conditions....you may want to look somewhere else.
response from property -I am sorry to hear about these issues you are having. I was just informed about the dog in the courtyard this morning and I am aware of whos it is and will be taking care of it today. Also, I have put in another request for your AC not shutting off, I will see if I can get maintenance over today for you. Now, the $33 is not anything extra, it is just being billed a different way, before it was bills $30 for valet trash and $3 for pest control on your Water/Sewer bill with OnePoint, but now it is billed in our system the same amount, and OnePoint is actually only billing water/sewer and their fees, but they are listing all charges, so there is nothing extra being charged. I know the deposit situation was unfortunate, but we had to go by what Greystar left us. On another note, we have been sending out trash violation letters now, which the Valet Trash collector will take photos and email us everyday showing who was in violation and they get fined $25 per bag of trash, or if their can is left outside after 9:00 AM. With all limited access doors and gates, they are only to limit access, and again sometimes people damage them. We have four on order right now for that reason. Thank you for taking the time to leave the review and rating and I hope we will be able to earn a higher rating in the future. We value your honesty and it helps us become a better community. Thank you again for taking the time.
submitted by Kevin H. - |Recommended: YesIt’s nice and clean — It’s friendly and nice
response from property -Thank you for taking the time to give us a rating and review. We hope we can make your stay with us a happy one! Thank you again.
submitted by Jacob W. - |Recommended: NoYou can do better — Management shut down the pool for half the weekend because of an alleged planned pool party. That's their idea of managing. Maintenance will take exponentially longer the more important the issue is, but at least you can get a lightbulb changed quickly. On that note, their web app for paying rent filing maintenance requests is usually broken. I'm not sure if there's more bugs in their resident portal software or in the apartments. Honestly the entire resident portal is broken and if this review submission goes through it'll be the only part of resident portal that works.
response from property -I'm sorry about any issues you are having with our Resident Portal App, this is the first I am hearing about it being down. I did make a judgment call on shutting down the pool for a weekend due to a creditable source that has been here for a very long time and knew that this part happens every here here, and the last two years it has happened, the bathrooms down in the common room and fitness center were so damaged, they flooded the entire floor, including the office as well. I was trying to be proactive and not have the property damaged, or a party where I would have had to call the police. Now, we do have a full maintenance team, as before last week, we only had 1 maintenance technician that was allowed to go into occupied apartments, which did set us back on our request. We are playing catch up, but we are getting there. I will go through our pending request and pull yours and make sure I have maintenance over today to resolve them. One last thing, if you are having any type of pest issues, would you like me to put you down for pest control? They will be here this Friday. They do come every Friday, so if you ever need them, just let us know before Fridays. I look forward to hearing back from you soon regarding any issues that are not listed on your review. Bobby Starnes, CAM Business Manager Pencil Factory Flats and Shops
submitted by Melissa H. - |Recommended: YesVery Nice — It was overall not a bad experience living here. Yes, of course it can be loud, but you're also living in the city. It was close to Georgia State which was nice, and I rarely had issues with my neighbors. The only downfall was that when we moved in ATT U-Verse was the only thing available and it is awful. Also, my car got broken into and APD made it seem like it was my fault and did nothing about it.
response from property -Thank you for the rating and review. I'm sorry about your car and the way the police acted. Crime knows no address and happens everywhere unfortunately, I'm just glad it as not been a repeat occurrence for you. Good news is now we are one of the only 2 apartment communities in this area that offer Google Fiber now!!! So that is something to look forward to!! Its super fast! Thank you again for the rating and review and if you need anything, just let us know in the office!!
submitted by Georgia J. - |Recommended: YesVery comfortable apartment — The leasing office and maintenance staff are very friendly, the buildings are secure, the rooms are comfortable and the kitchen is fantastic.
response from property -Thank you for taking the time to leave a review!
submitted by Jesse C. - |Recommended: YesIt is a nice place, I like it. — it is a great community, I feel safe here.
response from property -Thank you for your rating and review. We enjoy having you as a neighbor!!
submitted by Eden H. - |Recommended: YesWe love the Pencils — Pencils has a great location and clean property. Affordable and easy process for payments.
response from property -With new management comes newer and easier ways to pay rent, and every communicate with the office team! Thank you for the rating and review!
submitted by Anthony N. - |Recommended: NoIf you aren't a college student BEWARE — From the ongoing noise at all hours, changes in the office staff, trash in the hallways and parking garage, this place has become more and more like a dorm in the past six months. We are actively looking to move since we have been disappointed particularly in the last couple of months. Garage fobs keep getting deactivated so no less than four times in one month we have been unable to access the parking garage. On one good note, maintenance team has always been helpful and responsive.
response from property -Thank you for your rating and review. I am sorry about the fobs not working and the ordeals you have been through, Lincoln has taken over Management as of April 1, 2019 and I personally have over 13 years with them, so I am not planning on going anywhere. We are working on several options for trash cans near the garage exit doors to help with the trash people throw out of their cars and leave on the ground. We hope we are able to give you a better feel for Pencil Factory Flats and make it a place you will enjoy to call home. Thank you again for the rating and honest review.
submitted by Milani P. - |Recommended: YesGreat place to live for college students young adults — I lived with three girls in a 2 bed 2 bath. Many college students live at Pencil because it is so close to GSU campus, it is a 10 min walk The walls were quite thin, so if we played music or tv too loud our neighbors could hear. Because management changed often, we had a few problems, but ended up resolving them. Parking was great, there were many visitor parking spots for when our friends and family came over. Overall this is a great place to live, and I would recommend to other college students to live at Pencil as well
response from property -Thank you for the rating and review of Pencil Factory. Please refer as many people as you can, we do offer a resident referral bonus!!

The views and opinions expressed herein are solely those of the original authors and other contributors. These views do not reflect the views of "Pencil Factory Flats", its owners, managers, agents, employees or content providers. No representation or warranty, express or implied, is made or given by "Pencil Factory Flats", its owners, managers, agents, employees or content providers regarding safety, accuracy, completeness or suitability of the information or material expressed herein for any particular purpose